Brunei Dollar – My Collection

Posted: March 24, 2012 in Artikal, Koleksi Ku
Tags: ,

The Brunei dollar (Malay: ringgit Brunei, currency code: BND), has been the currency of the Sultanate of Brunei since 1967. It is normally abbreviated with the dollar sign $, or alternatively B$ to distinguish it from other dollar-dominated currencies, It is divided into 100 sen (Malay) or cents (English).

The Brunei dollar is managed together with the Singapore dollar at a 1:1 ratio by Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS). (Singapore is one of Brunei’s major trading partners.)

Early currency in Brunei included cowrie shells. Brunei is also famous for its bronze teapots, which were used as currency in barter trade along the coast of North Borneo.

Brunei issued tin coins denominated in pitis in AH1285 (AD1868). These were followed by a one cent coin in AH1304 (AD1888). This cent was one hundredth of a Straits dollar.

As a protectorate of Britain in the early 20th century, Brunei used the Straits dollar and later the Malayan dollar and the Malaya and British Borneo dollar until 1967, when it began issuing its own currency.

The Brunei dollar replaced the Malaya and British Borneo dollar in 1967 after the formation of Malaysia and the independence of Singapore. Until June 23, 1973, the Malaysian ringgit was exchangeable at par with the Singapore dollar and Brunei dollar. The Monetary Authority of Singapore and the Brunei Currency and Monetary Board still maintain the exchangeability of their two currencies. The dollar is accepted as “customary tender” in Singapore according to the Currency Interchangeability Agreement,[1] although it is not legal tender there. Likewise, the Singapore dollar is customarily accepted in Brunei.

On June 12, 1967, the government (Kerajaan Brunei) introduced notes in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 50 and 100 dollars. Notes for 500 and 1000 dollars followed in 1979. In 1989, the title on the paper money was changed to Negara Brunei Darussalam, the official name of the country, and the Malay term for “State of Brunei, Abode of Peace.” 10,000 dollar notes were introduced the same year. All notes bear the denomination in Malay (in both Rumi and Jawi) and in English. The English denomination appeared on the obverse below the denomination in Malay on the earlier series, but now appears on the reverse together with the Jawi.

Five series of notes have been issued. The colours of $1, $5, and $10 notes have been the same for all the series of banknotes.

1967 series

First series (1967) – currency with the portrait of HM the late Sultan Sir Omar Ali Saifuddin, the 28th ruler of Brunei.

1972 series

Second series – This series was the same as the first series with exception that the portrait of HM Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin was replaced by the portrait of HM Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, the 29th and current ruler of Brunei. All subsequent currency has the portrait of HM Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah. In addition, two new higher denominations were issued in 1979.

1989 series

Third series – the post independence series. This series was gradually being replaced by the fourth series.

1996-2000 Polymer and Paper Series

Fourth Series (1996–2000) all notes except for the polymer issues are no longer printed.

2004-2007 (polymer) series

Polymer banknotes were introduced in (2004) due to high cases of banknote forgery. All of them are polymer. The $100 note of this series has won a gold medal award for its security features in the 22nd National Print Award in Australia in May 2005.

2011 Polymer Series

To commemorate the 65th birthday of HM Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah.[5] Shortly after the notes were issued, the Braille dots on the upper left front corner of the new polymer notes are not raised. The Braille dots cannot be felt tactilely, and they are not accurately rendered as Braille numbers corresponding to the denominations. Specifically, the spacing of the dots is wrong, and the lack the lead-in character that indicates that numbers follow.


This was issued during the silver jubilee (25th anniversary) of HM Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah acceding to the throne. The design is of the 1989 series of currency.

On 27 June 2007, Singapore and Brunei celebrates the 40th anniversary of the Currency Interchangeability Agreement (since 12 June 1967) by joint-issuing commemorative $20 notes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s